Vengeance Is Not The Answer

When someone hurts you it is almost a primal reaction that you want to hurt them back. I have done that too, many times. But it didn’t make me feel better. It didn’t make my pain any lesser. It didn’t make it any easier for me to move on. The answer lies in forgiving. It is the best thing you can do. Maybe the other person doesn’t even realise their mistakes. One day they will, in their own time. Be the bigger person and let it go.

The more vengeful you are, the more twisted your thinking becomes. You won’t even understand your own monsters after a while and you will find yourself changed into someone that you yourself abhor. Hatred only makes you bitter. It is better to just leave them. Everyone, no matter how heinous has a conscience and they will understand one day, when it is too late to mend anything, that they were in the wrong. If they crossed the line, it doesn’t mean that you should too. That makes you as bad as they all are. Don’t let anyone change you into someone you would rather not be. Because what difference will it make to them? You are the one who has to live with yourself and your actions. I find great peace in looking back and thinking that I was big enough to forgive rather than take revenge.

I have met the best of them and the worst of them. I have met rapists; I have met those who offered money for sex. I have met girls so jealous that they would do anything to insult you. I have met people who lied to me to borrow money. I have met stalkers and people who make up stories to gain your sympathy. I have met cheaters and manipulators. But I also met strangers who cared more than they should. A man who loves me for my intelligence and not my body. A best friend who is not scared to tell me when I am in the wrong. A teacher who left everything to be by my side when I was crying because my friend was in an accident. Friends who comforted me at 3 am.

Those people who wronged me have their own pain and suffering to overcome. I won’t add to it, I would simply watch them feel guilty. Vengeance never has been the answer and I will not resort to it.

 

Leave a Reply

